ProTalk RSS feed http://protalk.me Latest video and audio recordings of ProTalk 2017-06-23T08:59:07+02:00 http://protalk.me/ en Jenkins CI as a Scientific Data and Image Processing Platform http://protalk.me/jenkins-ci-as-a-scientific-data-and-image-processing-platform 03-12-2014 ProTalk http://protalk.me/jenkins-ci-as-a-scientific-data-and-image-processing-platform Jenkins CI provides a robust framework for the integration and standardization of scientific workflows. We use Jenkins CI in combination with CellProfiler, an open source image processing software, to build an integrated platform for processing microscopy images and associated data generated from high content screening (HCS). The platform enables scientists to easily access required high performance computing resources, collaborate with each other and easily track data and meta to enhance reproducible research.

]]>
Using Jenkins for bioinformatics research http://protalk.me/using-jenkins-for-bioinformatics-research 03-12-2014 ProTalk http://protalk.me/using-jenkins-for-bioinformatics-research Jenkins Sao Paulo meet-up 2013 (Brazilian Portuguese). Audio problems.

]]>
Jenkins Structure Plug-in http://protalk.me/jenkins-structure-plug-in 03-12-2014 ProTalk http://protalk.me/jenkins-structure-plug-in Jenkins Structure Plug-in running with Bodega tutorial data. Simple Jenkins + Git/GitHub + Structure 2.3.4. Visit http://biouno.org for more.

]]>
Continuous Integration in Real Life http://protalk.me/continuous-integration-in-real-life 20-11-2014 ProTalk http://protalk.me/continuous-integration-in-real-life True North PHP Conference Video

]]>
Auth*: Dispelling The Myths http://protalk.me/auth-dispelling-the-myths 20-11-2014 ProTalk http://protalk.me/auth-dispelling-the-myths True North PHP Conference Talk

]]>
Blazing Data with Redis http://protalk.me/blazing-data-with-redis 20-11-2014 ProTalk http://protalk.me/blazing-data-with-redis True North PHP Conference Talk

]]>
Comparing Bootstrap and Foundation http://protalk.me/comparing-bootstrap-and-foundation 20-11-2014 ProTalk http://protalk.me/comparing-bootstrap-and-foundation True North PHP Conference Talk

]]>
Continuous Testing http://protalk.me/continuous-testing 20-11-2014 ProTalk http://protalk.me/continuous-testing True North PHP Conference Video

]]>
Database Testing for Fun and Profit http://protalk.me/database-testing-for-fun-and-profit 20-11-2014 ProTalk http://protalk.me/database-testing-for-fun-and-profit True North PHP Conference

]]>
Didn't I Just Upgrade to 5.3? http://protalk.me/didn-t-i-just-upgrade-to-5-3 20-11-2014 ProTalk http://protalk.me/didn-t-i-just-upgrade-to-5-3 True North PHP Conference Video

]]>
Distributed Teams, Distributed Tools, Distributed Apps http://protalk.me/distributed-teams-distributed-tools-distributed-apps 20-11-2014 ProTalk http://protalk.me/distributed-teams-distributed-tools-distributed-apps True North PHP Conference Video

]]>
Four Web Technologies You Should Be Looking At Now! http://protalk.me/four-web-technologies-you-should-be-looking-at-now 20-11-2014 ProTalk http://protalk.me/four-web-technologies-you-should-be-looking-at-now True North PHP Conference Video

]]>
AngularJS Fundamentals for Rapid HTML:5 Development http://protalk.me/angularjs-fundamentals-for-rapid-html-5-development 19-11-2014 ProTalk http://protalk.me/angularjs-fundamentals-for-rapid-html-5-development True North PHP Conference Talk

]]>
Portable Environments with Vagrant http://protalk.me/portable-environments-with-vagrant 20-10-2014 ProTalk http://protalk.me/portable-environments-with-vagrant Portable Environments with Vagrant

]]>
Design How Your Objects Talk Through Mocking at Laracon EU 2014 http://protalk.me/design-how-your-objects-talk-through-mocking-at-laracon-eu-2014 20-10-2014 ProTalk http://protalk.me/design-how-your-objects-talk-through-mocking-at-laracon-eu-2014 Design How Your Objects Talk Through Mocking at Laracon EU 2014

]]>
OOP For Drupal Developers http://protalk.me/oop-for-drupal-developers 17-10-2014 ProTalk http://protalk.me/oop-for-drupal-developers Speakers: lornajane A practical, no-rhetoric session on what objects are and why they might be useful to developers. We'll start with a little theory and then move on quickly to some practical examples of what you'll see in an OOP PHP project. From classes, objects and inheritance, we'll move on to file structure and autoloading code in PHP. This session will also cover more advanced concepts such as traits and interfaces, and discuss how they allow us to build more powerful, flexible applications with less code to maintain. Developers who attend this session will be able to tackle their next OOP project with confidence.

]]>
Deploying your Sites with Drush http://protalk.me/deploying-your-sites-with-drush 17-10-2014 ProTalk http://protalk.me/deploying-your-sites-with-drush Speakers: dasrecht Drush is not only awesome for managing your local Drupal site, with site aliases you can manage Drupal sites on remote servers without logging in via SSH! With Drush Deploy you even can deploy sites on multiple servers completely automated with one tool we all aready know at heart: Drush, no other additional library like Capistrano needed! In this Session we will present how to setup Drush to work with remote sites, what is possible and what we use in our daily business. Then we will dig deeper into Drush Deploy: how it works, what it does and show how to set it up to deploy a drupal site on multiple servers with a single command, with automated backups, database updates, cache clears and even rollback functionalities. We will cover all the different parts which need to be aligned before we can start using drush to deploy your site. We will also cover the problems we had and how we solved it and give you a outlook to Drupal 8 to show you that establishing a good deployment does not mean it will break with the next Drupal release.

]]>
Turning Drupal Into a Machine for Automated Deployment http://protalk.me/turning-drupal-into-a-machine-for-automated-deployment 17-10-2014 ProTalk http://protalk.me/turning-drupal-into-a-machine-for-automated-deployment Speakers: pwolaninNick_vh Acquia Search is a hosted Apache Solr service that Acquia has provided with each subscription since 2009. Last year, the service was re-launched behind the scenes on a new infrastructure to provide even more automation and integration with our other systems. Taking concepts in part from Drupal Gardens, we built a Drupal site that serves as a deployment machine: it receives data via Services module to create or update nodes. The data on the nodes is then used to configure load balancer and Apache Solr servers using a combination of git and direct ssh tasks using phpseclib. This talk will include A summary of the existing challenges to operations and development of new features A high-level picture of how this is orchestrated by Drupal How server configuration is managed for Apache Solr Request handling with Nginx to help our load balancing process How this scales for up to 4000+ Solr cores. How we spawn new search cores for customers automatically. Some more detailed explanations of how Drupal modules, the Drupal queue, and PHP libraries are leveraged. We hope you will come out of this talk with a new view of Drupal as a potential automation tool, and think about building your own system or adopting existing projects like Aegir or DevShop to help manage your deployment.

]]>
Panels, Display Suite, and Context - oh my! What to use when, why, and how http://protalk.me/panels-display-suite-and-context-oh-my-what-to-use-when-why-and-how 17-10-2014 ProTalk http://protalk.me/panels-display-suite-and-context-oh-my-what-to-use-when-why-and-how Speakers: ohthehugemanatee Drupal has a whole ecosystem of modules to help you with layout. Which one do you use? There are Display Suite die-hards, Context converts, Panels proselytizers, and even people who swear by Core's built in template/block system. Who's right? Which layout system should YOU use? In this session you'll learn that the answer is "all of the above". Each layout system has unique strengths and weaknesses; you'll learn to combine them to maximize those strengths! We will discuss and demonstrate the three major approaches, highlighting the best use cases for each and ways they can be combined. We will cover extensions to each module such as Panelizer and Field Group, and when those can be helpful as well. Finally we will review some case studies where a combined approach has improved maintainability while reducing setup time. You will leave this session with an in-depth understanding of major layout concepts in Drupal, and with some practical experience in combining them for optimum effect. Why restrict yourself to one layout system when you can use them all!

]]>
Drupal 8: The Crash Course http://protalk.me/drupal-8-the-crash-course 17-10-2014 ProTalk http://protalk.me/drupal-8-the-crash-course Speakers: Crell One of the most widely-used and mature Content Management Systems on the planet, Drupal runs more than one in fifty websites in the world. However, it has always been something of an odd duck, with an architecture and design very different than anything else in PHP. Enter Drupal 8: Almost a complete rewrite under the hood, Drupal 8 is a modern, PHP 5.4-boasting, REST-capable, object-oriented powerhouse. Now leveraging 3rd party components from no less than 9 different projects, Drupal 8 aims to be the premiere Content Management Platform for PHP. But how do you use all this new-fangled stuff? This session will provide a walkthrough of Drupal's key systems and APIs, intended to give developers a taste of what building modules with Drupal 8 will be like. Prior familiarity with Drupal 7 is helpful but will not be assumed.

]]>